Using ARMA in cronos

Oct 5, 2009 at 9:45 AM

Hi,

I am a research student in university and I have chosen a project using ARMA models to forecast network traffic. I plan to well used source code available in cronos and build an application on top of this but using the ARMA logic code from cronos. Can anyone give me idea which part of code or which section should I extract and grab? Or which part of code should my new project building on top of it refer to? Secondly, I tried using cronos few days already to figure out how it works but so far I am quite confused with all data being shown and forecast. Any better guide on this? or a better UserGuide?

I appreciate all idea and help from everyone. Thanks.

Coordinator
Oct 7, 2009 at 7:20 PM

There seem to be two separate questions here:

(1) How do you use ARMA models within Cronos?

For this, you really should work through the tutorial in the User's Guide.  It makes it fairly clear how to fit and use ARMA models for forecasting, and many users have managed to work it out using the existing version of the User's Guide.  The procedure is really no  more complicated (indeed I would argue that it is simpler) than it is using R or any other standard statistics package for analysis.  If you then have more specific questions about the details, feel free to post them here.

(2) How do you build a new application using code from Cronos?

If you are developing in C++ or some language other than C#, then you will need to pull out all the appropriate code from the source in the ABMath library (look for the ARMAModel class).  This is a non-trivial procedure and I'm afraid I don't have time to help people out with this.  In general, I think it would be more productive simply to read a good time series book and code up the algorithm yourself rather than transplanting bits and pieces from somewhere else.  Otherwise the risk of introducing bugs is high.